“Trois cadences” for cello solo, my new musical journey

My exploration of the instrumental repertoire is still ongoing with three new works for solo cello I wrote last year. “Trois cadences” are 3 short pieces for cello, of about 4 minutes each, combining great technical demands and high musicality.

“Cadence I” which opens the book, makes full use of instrument’s capacities of resonance and expression. Freely inspired by the first movement of Kodály’s cello Sonata, the writing twirls over a wide range of notes and explores many technical possibilities of the cello, while trying to keep a deep musicality.

“Cadence II” opens with an almost Chopinian introductory theme and alternates throughout the piece between drama and lyricism, storm and reverie, baroque improvisation and archaic music with the use of fifths, in a sound rendering that is deliberately less resonant than “Cadence I”.

“Cadence III” leads the performer along a narrow path, always on the razor’s edge, with tiny possibility of resonance (no open strings). It’s a high physically demanding piece, written in a key disliked by most cellists (F minor). It starts simply, with a formal cadenza extracted from the Ysaye cello Sonata. This scheme is then explored for almost 4 minutes, playing over and over again on the two-note repetition pattern of the initial cadenza.

These “Trois cadences” are quite a challenge for the performer. Lucile Fauquet did a real amazing job! Congrats and big thanks to her, especially for accepting to get involved in this project. She was, as usual, professional and demanding, with always challenging eyes on the score. A fruitful collaboration!

The release planning of these 3 pieces is as follows :

  • “Cadence I” as a single will be available the 13th of January 2023 on all streaming platforms (Spotify, Deezer…). A video with the score will be published at the same time on YouTube.
  • The complete “Trois Cadences” will be published the 16th of February 2023 on all streaming platforms (Spotify, Deezer…) and on YouTube with the full scores.

Really hope you will like it!

Stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s